christmas pattern decorating idea easy project fabric folding fabric manipulation fabric scraps project quilting tutorial

Handmade Christmas trees

I seem to have a soft spot for Christmas tree craft. I have done 5 types of Christmas trees using different techniques in the past three or four years.

One of my favourites is the Patchwork tree softie. This tree softie is made with the smallest of scraps and is super easy to make. You can even make a little forest in different sizes!

The easiest and quickest by far is possibly the Christmas tree softie. I recommend you use the Patchwork tree softie pattern instead of the one provided as the patchwork tree sits a lot better.

There’s a third tree softie I made last year using embroidery as the main technique. It is the Embroidered Christmas tree softie. I like the effect of using long and short stitch in a gradient.

Finally, if you prefer a no sew project I have made two trees this way using head pins and polystyrene cones.

The Snowed top Christmas tree was my first of this kind. Unfortunately I don’t have a pattern for this tree as it belongs in a book I contributed this project for.

And finally there is the No sew Christmas tree ornament that I made as I got into fabric manipulation (see my 41 fabric manipulations I have used in the making of 2 textured quilts). It uses fabric scraps, ribbon and sequins pinned to a polystyrene cone.

I hope you enjoy making these. And if you do please share a photo in my Flickr group.

Leave a comment