bag sewing christmas pattern Christmas quilt embroidery iPad carrycase iPad gadget iPad slipcover

Hand embroidery projects and ideas

In this post I’ll resurface some of my favourite hand embroidery projects and ideas. Each project comes with a tutorial to make an object as well as a novel way to use embroidery in a non traditional way.

1. Using the fabric design as an embroidery template

The first project is an iPad carrybag. The embroidery pattern is the outline of the fabric I used for the tab and the back scaled down. This is an idea that can take other directions and in future I intend to explore further.

2. Embellishing a quilt with embroidery

This tutorial shows you how to make a Christmas quilt using 5 inch charm squares. The quilt is completed by an embroidered French Christmas poem.

3. Gradient embroidery

This tutorial is for a notebook cover. This type of embroidery can be done with numbers, initials, names and the like. It’s easy though a bit time consuming.

4. Extending fabric print with embroidery

This cozy tutorial is embellished with embroidery. Check out the tutorial and look closely at the fabric. The pattern in the fabric has been filled in with embroidery. I intend to explore this type of embroidery further in the future.

5. Embroidery lettering

These napkins are made as a set. Each of them contains an embroidered line belonging to a French nursery rhyme.

6. Pillow embroidery to match duvet cover

This tutorial contains an embroidery idea for a matching pillow case. The idea was born out of need. I bought a doona cover without matching pillows. I then drew some of the doona cover flowers on the pillow and embroidered them.

7. Embroidering on felt shapes

This tutorial contains instructions on how to make flowers with felt cutouts. I used embroidery to embellish the flowers.

8. Mixing improv patchwork with embroidery

This is a tutorial for a reversible tray cover using basic improv patchwork and embroidery. The words on both sides are in French as well.

If you make any item based on my tutorials pleas share in my Flickr group.

1 comment

  1. Such amazing designs! I looked through all these tutorials linked in the blog post, and they were quite easy to understand. I will surely try one for my next DIY project for Embroidered Fabric . If you do not have time to do that, you can surely check out the beautiful collection at our website.

    Like

Leave a comment