beginner quilt block easy quilt free pattern HST patchwork quick quilt sampler quilt tutorial

1 video tutorial: 16 half square triangles (HST), 16 different blocks, 1 quilt sampler

This is a beginner quilt. Each block is made with 2 sets of 8 half square triangles (HST) made at once. Watch the 2 minute video tutorial on making 8 HSTs at once:

If you would like to follow the tutorials, you can subscribe to my blog, to my Facebook page, to my Instagram or to my Youtube channel.

If you’d like to join in, feel free to post pictures on my 16 HST quilt sampler Flickr group. Or post on Instagram with tag #16hstquiltsampler

HST quilt sampler block tutorials:

Block 1: 16 HST quilt sampler - beginner quilt

HST quilt sampler: Block 1

Block 2: 16 HST quilt sampler - beginner quilt

HST quilt sampler: Block 2

Block 3: 16 HST quilt sampler - beginner quilt

HST quilt sampler: Block 3

Block 4: 16 HST quilt sampler

HST quilt sampler: Block 4

Block 5: 16 HST quilt sampler

HST quilt sampler: Block 5

Block 6: 16 HST quilt sampler - video tutorial

HST quilt sampler: Block  6

Block 7: 16 HST quilt sampler

HST quilt sampler: Block 7

Block 8: 16 HST quilt sampler

HST quilt sampler: Block  8

Block 9: 16 HST quilt sampler tutorial

HST quilt sampler: Block  9

Block 10: 16 HST quilt sampler tutorial

HST quilt sampler: Block  10

Block 11: 16 HST quilt sampler tutorial

HST quilt sampler: Block 11

Block 12: 16 HST quilt sampler tutorial

HST quilt sampler: Block 12

Block 13: 16 HST quilt sampler tutorial

HST quilt sampler: Block 13

Block 14: 16 HST quilt sampler tutorial

HST quilt sampler: Block 14

Block 15: 16 HST quilt sampler tutorial

HST quilt sampler: Block 15

Block 16: 16 HST quilt sampler tutorial

HST quilt sampler: Block 16

Some notes

Starting squares size: 7  inch square. You will need at least four 7 inch squares for each block or more for blocks in 3 or 4 different fabrics. Each pair makes 8 HST.

Block size: 10 1/2 inch square.

Block type: 16-patch block.

Trimming half square triangles: Essential. Remember to trim off your HSTs  and make sure that they are 3 inch square.

Fabric needs:  I will give you the fabric needs for each block. All blocks use four 7 inch squares in different colours and combinations. More details on each tutorial. This quilt is fat quarter friendly.

Colour scheme: For better results, use high contrasting fabrics.

If you want to join in, feel free to post pictures on my 16 HST quilt sampler Flickr group. Or post on Instagram with tag #16hstquiltsampler

22 comments

  1. Thanks so much for putting together such great tutorials and patterns! I’m wanting to make a bedrunner so I will be using some of the blocks but will print out all the patterns so I will have them future use. I don’t have the space to work on large quilts and have some difficultly with my hands, so working on large projects isn’t something I enjoy. But making baby quilts, meduim-sized wall hangings and table runners gives me enough projects to work on and still enjoying quilting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Teresa. I was looking for the measurements on how large a square I needed depending on the size I wanted to make (2 and 1/2 inch for example). Your video is cute and gave me lots of great ideas! Thank you for responding to my question!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment