quilting

Video tutorial: Buzz saw patchwork block

Buzz saw patchwork block

This video tutorial makes 2 pieces like the one above. The full block is made with 4 pieces.

Buzz saw patchwork block

Notes

The math for this block isn’t 100% correct. What I mean by that is that you may find that if you cut your strips at 2 1/2 inch intervals, the last strip will be less than 2 1/2 inches.You can see that on my video. That’s because the half square triangle is 9 1/2 inches square not 10.

That doesn’t affect the end result. Just sew the narrower strip with a scant 1/8 inch seam allowance to compensate a bit. That’s what I did, though I’m not sure it was necessary.

How to make this block

Materials

For each 4 piece patchwork block, you need:

  • two 10 inch squares in red
  • two 10 inch squares in light grey
  • four 2 1/2 inch x 9 1/2 inch strips of red fabric

Quilt designs

With this block there are variety of quilt designs you can make:

Buzz saw quilt

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

Visual process

Buzz saw quilt block

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

An unusual placement of this block makes this quilt:

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

In two colours

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

Two colour buzz saw quilt layout

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

Buzz saw patchwork quilt design

23 comments

  1. Thank you. That looks easy. I am a new quilter looking for not too hard yet different type squares. Thank you for showing me ” how to”!!

    Like

  2. Ludmila, you’re right, I’m uploading a new video with the right sizing, 10 inches. Sorry about that. My blog post is correct but I somehow mistyped the size on the video.

    Like

  3. You’re right, the last strip is not exactly 2.5″ because in fact the HST is 9.5. My last strip is slightly less than 2.5″. You can see it on the video if you look closely. But it doesn’t show in the finished block. The instruction should be to divide the resulting HST into 4 equal strips. At the end of the tutorial you will have a 9 3/4″ block, depending on how accurate your cutting is. Mine is about that. So the finished block with the 4 pieces will be about 19 inches I think if my math is correct.

    Like

  4. I to, am in down under, Adelaide in fact. Love the buzz saw block . Just have to try it. Ah, I am supposed to be quilting my quilts which I have been making for charity, but I think I will have to do a block just to get the hang of it then get back to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. If you cut the strips at 2 3/8″ each the math works out. You will end up with four strips the same size, then just cut the solid strip 2 3/8″ also.

    Like

    1. Hi Barb, thank you for that info. I don’t think you can actually make that quilt with this block. You need a mirrored block as well. I do have another tutorial though which is more like that one though someone pointed out it was like Delectable mountains quilt rather. I don’t really know. There are so many traditional blocks and quilts that it’s hard to tell them apart and there’re just so many combinations one can have.

      Like

  6. Outstanding block ! You never lack imagination dear , loving the color combinations and versatility of this . Can’t wait to try it ! Thank you for posting ♥️👍🏼

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment