acolchado charm pack quilt charm pack sewing free quilt half square triangle video tutorial

Video tutorial: quick and easy whirlwind block

Quick and easy whirlwind quilt block - video tutorial

With this video tutorial you will make 2 whirlwind blocks in no time.

You only need two 20 inch  x 2 1/2 inch strips in contrasting fabrics to make two 5 1/4 inch blocks.

You can make this block in any size provided both strips are the same width.

Watch the video, it goes for less than one minute, that’s how easy this block is. Enjoy!

Next time I will show you what to do with 2 these blocks and two more.

If you want to be notified every time I upload a video, subscribe to my YouTube channel.

Quilt layouts you can make with these blocks

Quilt layout 1

Quilt layout 2

Quilt layout 3

Quilt layout 4

14 comments

  1. I LOVE this!! Thanks for the video. I would like to make this block in a 15.5 inch size (unfinished block) Can you tell me how please ???

    Like

  2. I am trying to make a 12 1/2 block, and I lost the pattern. My 5 inch wide strips are sewn with a 1/4 inch seam allowance, but I need to know what dimensions to cut from here. I’m lost!! I would appreciate any help.

    Like

    1. Hi Andrea, after sewing both strips the piece will be 9 1/2” wide {5” + 5” minus both seam allowances}. So your squares need to be cut 9 1/2” apart.

      Like

Leave a comment