quilting

Free form patchwork mini quilt – visual creative process


Finished size is 14in x14in.

Almost all pieces are cut using a pair of scissors.

I started the constructions by cutting a long strip and then I cut them in sections at irregular intervals. Then I cut small rectangles to insert in between the larger strip sections.

I stiched all bits together as per (this very bad) photo.

I ironed the strip and cut another white fabric strip.

I stitched the white strip to the colour strip just completed and then I constructed another colour strip and attached it to the other side of the white strip.

I continued to add strips.

I ironed the pieces flat.

And trimmed using scissors.

This is the next major block I constructed in a similar way as the previous section. I stitched two thick and wide blue pieces to a middle red narrow strip. Then I cut across and the resulting pieces were sewn again with another narrow red strip.

I also created another block in the same way as the coloured strips I did at the start.

I placed the pieces on the table to see where they were going…

The white block was too wide so I trimmed it and used the trimmed piece to make the other piece larger so that both pieces could be stitched together.

I stitched both pieces.

I stitched both sections together and started to build around it.

I made a few mini log cabin blocks too.


The bigger the piece the more uneven the sides get.

Square the sides.

Quilt any way you like.

14 comments

  1. I like it! I did something similar with leftover cuttings from a quilt. Turned out really pretty. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Great idea and very free form, very interesting thank you for sharing. I have just started to quilt and will definately give your quilt a try.

    Like

  3. I like it! What a nice way to finish! I was making something similar didn’t know how to finish.
    Thanks to you I will now finish my quilt!!
    Veena

    Like

Leave a comment