christmas pattern decorating idea embroidery free-motion

Quilted Christmas wall hanging tutorial

Note the pattern for this embroidery is no longer available or I wasn’t able to find it on Gail Pan’s designs site.

Fabrics

  • Calico or cream coloured fabric
  • Fabric scraps for border and binding
  • Matching fabric to cover button

Embroidery

  • Stranded cotton in red

Other

  • 2 self cover buttons

Embroidery stitches used

  • Stem stitch for star, lettering and tree trunk
  • French knots and fern stitch for the branches

Measurements

Calico fabric: 9.5in x 13 in for the embroidery.

Border: 2 x strips of 13 in x 3.5 in and 2 strips of 19.5 in x 3.5 in

Binding: a strip of 2.5 in wide fabric. Fold in half before stitching to the quilt sandwich

Embroidery pattern by Gail Pan Designs.

After the embroidery is complete, assemble the quilt sandwich and prepare it for quilting.

Quilt together using stipple quilting. The closer together the stitches the stiffer the end result.

Attach the border.

The hanging tabs are made of 2 rectangles measuring 8.5 in x 4.5 in each sewn in  a tube.

The buttons are covered in a matching fabric.

Stitch tabs to finished wall hanging.

11 comments

  1. I’ve gotta make the time and make this….it is precious and small enough for me to handle easily. Thanks for giving us all the info. This wall hanging is one everyone is going to like. It is ust that sweet and special.
    Genie

    Like

  2. I love this wall hanging, however the embroidery pattern will not open for me. Is there anyway I could have the pattern emailed to me?
    Thanks so much!!

    Like

  3. Tracie

    I’m sorry but the pattern was available until recently for free. I haven’t been able to find it again. I suggest you click on the photograph. A larger photograph will display. Print it, then trace over the top with a thick black tester and you have your pattern there.

    Teresa

    Like

Leave a comment