Hunter's star video tutorial - quick and easy quilt block

Video tutorial: Hunter’s star quilt block – quick and easy quilting

Video tutorial: Hunter's star quilt block - use Christmas colours to make a Christmas quilt

This block is made out of 2 squares of fabric. Yes, just 2 squares of fabric in contrasting fabrics.

How to make a quick and easy Hunter’s star quilt block

Learn how to make a Hunter’s start quilt block in  just over 2 minutes:

Materials for one Hunter’s star quilt block

  • Two 9 inch squares in contrasting fabrics

Block size

The finished block is 10 1/2 inches square.

Visual process

Video tutorial: Hunter's star quilt block

18 thoughts on “Video tutorial: Hunter’s star quilt block – quick and easy quilting”

  1. I just love how easy you make quilt blocks appear to be. The videos are great, but I keep hoping you’ll be posting instructions again as well. I know that takes a lot more time on your part, but I do miss being able to have instructions that I can take to my sewing table to use. Will you possibly be doing those in the future again? I’m sorry to ask and please don’t take this as a complaint because I’m not going to unsubscribe because of this. I was just wondering.

    This is one of my favorite blocks and you just made it look so easy. Thank you!


  2. wow, you really simplified that block. i took a class years ago and the teacher was ridiculously strict on matching points, and it wasn’t fun. my quilt turned out beautifully but i was pretty sure i would never make another.


  3. Thank you. I value your feedback and I don’t take it as criticism. I may do a full quick quilt mini pattern out of this one in future.


  4. Thank you. You still need to match points with this one, which should be fine if squares are all the same size. The only thing to bear in mind with this one is that a lot of the pieces have bias edges that have a tendency to stretch. This is worse with larger pieces. Usually I find it’s ok in the size used on the video


  5. Just repeat the tutorial with 2 other fabrics with one of them being the third colour/print if you know what I mean.


Leave a Reply

