Video tutorial: foundation paper piecing for beginners

Since I started doing my Dear Jane quilt using foundation paper piecing, I have been saying how easy paper piecing is and how perfect blocks turn out.

It may be a bit tricky to understand at first, that is why this tutorial uses solid fabrics. This makes it even easier. Judge by yourself and let me know what you think.

The video lasts for 3.45 minutes. It is short and sweet.

If you want to try foundation paper piecing, download the Chevron block pattern (pdf) and print it on plain printer paper. The pattern has two pieces which are mirror of each other.

To help you with measurements, for the two sides of the block, I cut:

  • Area 1: One 5 1/2 inch to 6 inch square cut in the diagonal into 2 triangles (yellow)
  • Area  4: One 5 1/2 inch to 6 inch square cut in the diagonal into 2 triangles (white)
  • Area  2: Two 2 inch x 7 1/2 inch strip in charcoal
  • Area 3: Two 2 inch x 7 1/2 inch strip in beige

I made two full blocks with the intention of doing something with them though I still haven’t decided what I will make.

I haven’t decided on the placement either. Which one do you prefer?

Download Chevron block pattern (pdf)

Placement 1

Placement 2

Placement 3

Placement 4

5 thoughts on “Video tutorial: foundation paper piecing for beginners”

  1. Kathleen, I hadn’t thought about foundation piecing that way but you’re right it’s perfect for a beginner for that reason. You only have to sew along lines! Perfect!

    Like

Leave a Reply

