Jane A. Stickle Quilt row B: JAS-B10 – Jud’s Trophy

Susan Gatewood rates the difficulty of this block as medium. I think that it’s easier than that if paper piecing.

The biggest challenge is the size of the pieces. Even with paper piecing I find small pieces are tricky and often the points don’t match.

The block has 27 pieces so it’s not too time consuming to put together.

As suggested on the pattern, I did the centre cross first.

I miscalculated some of the fabric so I was a bit short on the seams. It’s not the first time this happens but it’s usually ok and in some instances even desirable to have narrower seams than the usual 1/4 inch.

This is the back of the paper. I usually remove all the paper at the end unless I need to remove bulk earlier.

The cross is looking very neat. I don’t think I would have made such a good job using traditional piecing methods.

This is the final block.

Where to get the Jane A. Stickle Quilt patterns

Susan Gatewood’s paper foundation . All patterns are free though Susan says “I only ask that you consider making a donation to the Bennington Museum, in Bennington, Vermont. And if you do, it would make me tremendously happy if you would tell them that you have received help from me.” I totally recommend Susan’s patterns as they are very easy to use.

Virtual quilt

See all blocks I’ve done together in a larger size.

2 thoughts on “Jane A. Stickle Quilt row B: JAS-B10 – Jud’s Trophy”

  1. You’re right! But only because I’m paper piecing. I still don’t think I could do this quilt the traditional way and have my blocks look this good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

