Jane A. Stickle Quilt row B: JAS-B09 – Tinker toy

This bock is pieced traditionally. I followed Susan Gatewood’s instructions for this block.

The block has 4 Y seams so it’s a bit tricky. Though again the hardest part was placing the appliqued square.

To make this block I cut 2 x 2 3/4 in square in white and 2 x 2 3/4 in square in the pattern fabric to make the corner triangles. Then I cut 4 pieces 2 1/4 in x 2 1/2 in for the cross and one 1 1/2 square for the centre.

To make the corner triangles I placed two squares with right sides facing together.

I drew a line in the diagonal.

Then I stitched on each side of the line leaving 1/4 in seam allowance.

Open and press.

The corners need to be trimmed to 2 inches.

Now the cross pieces need to be trimmed as well.

I used the paper pattern to trim.

I placed the pieces in the layout.

Susan suggest that the block is put together by stitching all right sides first.

This is what the block looks like.

At this stage the Y seams aren’t stitched together.

Now, place both Y seams together as per picture and stitch.

Do this with all four Y seams.

Then press the block well.

And finally, the top square is appliqued.

I appliqued the square using reverse applique with freezer paper on top.

I cut a piece of paper and then cut the 3/4 in square in the centre.

I centered the paper in the block and press. This was not easy and the square is not perfectly in the centre.

Now place a piece of white fabric under the block and pin all three layers: freezer paper, block and white fabric.

Applique the square.

Where to get the Jane A. Stickle Quilt patterns

Susan Gatewood’s paper foundation . All patterns are free though Susan says “I only ask that you consider making a donation to the Bennington Museum, in Bennington, Vermont. And if you do, it would make me tremendously happy if you would tell them that you have received help from me.” I totally recommend Susan’s patterns as they are very easy to use.

Virtual quilt

See all blocks I’ve done together in a larger size.

4 thoughts on “Jane A. Stickle Quilt row B: JAS-B09 – Tinker toy”

  1. Looking good Teresa. Take a look at my blog and see the bag I made using your pattern. Is there anywhere I can show it to compliment you on your generosity. 😀

    Like

  2. That looks great! And thank you for showing me. In Instagram sometimes people tag me to show me items they’ve made based on my pattern but if you don’t have instagram that’s fine. My instagram is @teresadownunder.

    Like

  3. Maybe your way was easier because it looked kind of ok at first and then it turned out a bit tricky with the Y seams and the small square.

    Like

Leave a Reply

