Jane A. Stickle Quilt block 6: JAS-A06 – Uncle Homer

This is a very easy block though I had to make it twice.

I cut the pieces the wrong size so when I finished the block and it was too small I worked out what the sizing should be.

But the sizing I worked out was wrong too! So when I finished the second block I had to trim it down to 5 in square. That’s why my corner squares a slightly smaller than need be and the centre square slightly larger.

I pieced this block.

Susan instructions call for:

  • 4 pieces 1 5/8in x 1 5/8in
  • 4 pieces 1 5/8in x 2 3/4in
  • 1 piece 2 3/4in x 2 3/4in

My block has:

  • 4 pieces 1 5/8in x 1 5/8in
  • 4 pieces 1 5/8in x 2 3/4in
  • 1 piece 3 1/8in square

With my sizing you’ll need to trim the block down to 5 inches, or about 1/8 in all around.

Where to get the Jane A. Stickle Quilt  patterns

Susan Gatewood’s paper foundation . All patterns are free though Susan says “I only ask that you consider making a donation to the Bennington Museum, in Bennington, Vermont.  And if you do, it would make me tremendously happy if you would tell them that you have received help from me.” I totally recommend Susan’s patterns as they are very easy to use.

Virtual quilt

See all blocks I’ve done together in a larger size.

2 thoughts on “Jane A. Stickle Quilt block 6: JAS-A06 – Uncle Homer”

  1. I think the sizes given by Susan are the correct ones except that I missread them and cut the wrong size to start with. I should really remake this block.

    Like

Leave a Reply

