Jane A. Stickle Quilt block 3: JAS-A03 – Hunter’s Moon – Take 2

I had another go at A03 though it may not be the last.

While I think it’s an improvement on the first block, some things went wrong so the melons aren’t the same size and it looks a bit odd to me.

I’m not quite sure I even followed my own plan. I couldn’t get my head around all the layers and where to use freezer paper, etc.

This is the first time I use freezer paper by the way, and I love it. It made a world of difference to how smooth the sides of the melons turned out.

I planned to do reverse applique though in the end I did needle turn on one layer and reverse on the other.

So I cut 3 squares, a larger 5 1/2 in one for the top and 2 smaller 4 in squares for the other two layers.

Then I drew the circle on freezer paper. The diameter of the circle is 2 1/2 inches.

As you can see I was a bit confused about what I was doing because I drew two lines for the melons placement.

I eventually worked it out and cut out the centre.

Ironed it to the white fabric. And then I marked the line directly on the fabric where to cut the centre off.

Then the fun started. I cut the centre.

Pinned the smaller brown square underneath. It looks like I fussy cut the fabric but it was pure coincidence. I only realised later.

I appliqued the top fabric. As you can see things started to go wrong at this stage. The melons ends weren’t exactly touching.

Trim off fabric from the back.

Then I drew a circle in both the fabric and the freezer paper. This is again where I went wrong again.

The freezer paper circle wasn’t big enough or exactly round.

I pressed it to the wrong side of the fabric.

Cut around the circle and make small cuts around so that the fabric turned better.

Then place over the melons and finish the applique.

Trim off the white fabric as well and you’re done.

Not sure about how successful this second attempt is but I’m happier than take 1. What do you think?

Where to get the Jane A. Stickle Quilt patterns

Susan Gatewood’s paper foundation . All patterns are free though Susan says “I only ask that you consider making a donation to the Bennington Museum, in Bennington, Vermont. And if you do, it would make me tremendously happy if you would tell them that you have received help from me.” I totally recommend Susan’s patterns as they are very easy to use.

2 thoughts on “Jane A. Stickle Quilt block 3: JAS-A03 – Hunter’s Moon – Take 2”

  1. Dear Teresa,
    Thank you for showing your process with the Stickle block 3. I love your fabric choice, it inspires me to choose a broader/different range of prints. The link to Susan R. Gatewood’s generously free paper foundations is a revelation. Her appliqué method for block 3 is one I plan to try. Learning to make the sharp points on the melons looks to be a challenge. Connecting the points before appliqué seems spot-on. Wish me luck, please.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

