Jane A. Stickle Quilt block 4: JAS-A04 – Courtney’s Stethoscope

This block was a breeze compared with JAS-A03. The cross in the middle isn’t quite straight but I’m ok with that. It probably took me 2 or 2.30 hours to make though more experienced quilters should be able to make this block in half the time.

The more foundation piecing I do the more I like it. I don’t know if I’ll be able to go back to using traditional quilting methods after this. It’s so easy and worry free that it almost feels like cheating.

My approach with this block was the same as for A02. I measured all triangles, rectangles and other pieces, including the seam allowance, and cut them with an extra 1/4 in all around. Fabric waste was minimal.

I cut in yellow:

  • 1 piece 1 in x 3 1/2in
  • 4 pieces 1 in x 4 1/2 in
  • 2 pieces 2 in x 1 in
  • 4 pieces 2 1/2 in square

In white:

  • 4 pieces 1 in square for the corners
  • 4 pieces 2 in square cut into triangles on the diagonal

The beauty of this is that you don’t have to be extremely accurate in your cutting at this stage since you know you’ll be trimming. This makes the cutting a lot faster and worry free.

Stitch all pieces and assemble into the block as per Susan’s diagram.

Where to get the Jane A. Stickle Quilt  patterns

Susan Gatewood’s paper foundation . All patterns are free though Susan says “I only ask that you consider making a donation to the Bennington Museum, in Bennington, Vermont.  And if you do, it would make me tremendously happy if you would tell them that you have received help from me.” I totally recommend Susan’s patterns as they are very easy to use.

Virtual quilt

See all blocks I’ve done together in a larger size.

5 thoughts on “Jane A. Stickle Quilt block 4: JAS-A04 – Courtney’s Stethoscope”

  1. You can’t beat foundation piecing for accuracy. And it can be addicting–almost like potato chips: “Bet you can’t eat just one!”
    Here’s a tip I’ve discovered to position fabric so it will cover the space after being sewn and flipped: Mark the exact center of each seam line on the paper foundation. Then, before positioning fabric, make a crease in the exact center of the edge to be sewn. Works every time!
    Hope you enjoy piecing and sharing as much as we all do. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for that Carol. I’m not sure I understand your technique. I’m a bit of a visual person. Do you have any photos or video of this to illustrate?

    Like

Leave a Reply

