Free-motion stipple quilting: take 2

I had done a bit of free motion quilting a while back and then I quilted 2 17′ cushions last weekend.

I was a bit scared at first because it looked hard but I’ve changed my mind. It’s actually quite easy… after you get the hang of it.

I read somewhere you need to do about 100 hours before you are good at it. Now, I don’t think you need 100 hours but you probably need to do about a surface of about 45′ x 45′ to start developing a reasonable technique. At least that’s how much I stipple quilted before I became confident.

These Heather Bailey cushions will match my Quilt Along quilt. I think that my technique has improved since the last weekend’s cushions.

Cushion I
Detail from cushion I
Detail from cushion I
Cushion II
Detail from cushion II
Detail from cushion II
Detail from cushion II
Cushion III
Detail from cushion III
Detail from cushion III
6 thoughts on “Free-motion stipple quilting: take 2

  1. I think that this weeks looks professional…I thought that it must be some stitch pattern on your machine. If that is free-hand, you are definitely getting the hang of it! Also, since I am new to this, do you have a special foot for the machine for this type of stitching? Thanks.

  2. Pingback: Free motion log cabin quilted cushions « Patchwork

  3. Pingback: Stipple quilting « Patchwork

  4. Pingback: Finished stipple quilted cushions « Patchwork

  5. Pingback: Quilt along free-motion quilt completed « Patchwork

Leave a Reply

