Hot water bottle quilted cover

Materials

You will need enough fabric to cover the bottle surface plus one inch and a quarter around it.

2  10′ x 11.’5 rectangles of fabric for the outside
2  11′ x 17.5′ backing fabric
1.5 metres ribbon to match
Batting

For this project I used some of the leftovers from other projects.

I used left overs from my string quilt and laptop folder and I still have some left overs!

I used some ribbon I had left from my headband hanger project a week earlier.

Method

Cut the fabric to measure.

Stitch the patchwork strings to the main body, then stitch the ribbon over the seam.

Time to add the batting and pin in place.

I self seamed the top part of the cover, front and backing. Leave a gap at the top to thread some ribbon through and tie the cover.

Then quilt the piece as usual. I didn’t quilt mine. I hope the batting doesn’t disintegrate when I wash it.

A view from the back.

Leave a Reply

