Top 10 favourites – Farmer’s wife quilt sampler

What are my favourite blocks? This is a difficult choice because I like many of the blocks in this quilt.

I like them for various reasons such as the block design, the fabrics I used or the colour scheme. Which ones are your favourite blocks? Here is my selection:

Peaceful Hours

W.C.T.U

Waste Not

Attic Windows

Garden Path

Noon & Light

Flower Basket

Flower Pot

Checkerboard

Morning

More information about how I am making this quilt.

 

5 thoughts on “Top 10 favourites – Farmer’s wife quilt sampler

  1. Dear Teresa, Beautiful! I couldn’t choose. Do you have a longarm? If not, you might be interested in my machine quilting method. My method does not require any bias tape between sections or other “giveaways” that show the finished quilt was done section-by-section. I assemble and sew the entire backing. Then for the pieced top, I assemble the blocks in sections. For example on a queen sized strippy quilt I had three vertical sections, plus the wide top and bottom borders. On a recent wholecloth quilt with applique, I pieced the backing instead, and again quilted it section by section. I cut batting the size of the center panel, plus 2″ on all sides. I pin baste the top and batting to its proper place in the center of the backing. I roll up the excess backing (a thin roll). I free motion machine quilt this section, staying 1/2″ to 1″ away from the edges. For a sampler quilt such as yours, I would recommend quilting each block differently. I use Golden Threads paper for marking, and machine quilt right through it, then tear it away afterwards. Going on to the next section, I begin by sewing the next pieced section to the center quilted section, right sides together, with the usual 1/4″ seam allowance. I cut the next section of batting and baste it in place with a long herringbone stitch. I pin baste the layers together and machine quilt. Simply repeat for each section. You are always quilting an edge, never cramming half of a queen quilt under the machine arm. Happy quilting!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Hi carol, thank you for sharing. I’m always looking for easier better ways to do stuff. Do uou have a video on your method or pictures? I’m not quite spure I get it.

Leave a Reply

